1999 The Division of the NWT and Nunavut

Not so long ago, the Northwest Territories covered almost all of Canada. Our history has been shaped, in part, by the continual creation of other provinces and territories from our place. The last division took place in 1999, when the new territories of Nunavut and the Northwest Territories were created out of the old NWT. Most people focused on the creation of Nunavut, a homeland for the Inuit of the eastern arctic, and forgot that a new territory had been created in the west as well. This new NWT had new demographics, a new economy and a new future.

In 1973, the Inuit Tapirisat of Canada (ITC) began investigating Inuit land use and occupancy of the North which revealed the extent of their Aboriginal title. This study formed the geographical basis of the Nunavut Territory and includes the Beaufort Delta area of the NWT. In 1993, after the NWT voted 56% in favour of division, the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement Act and the Nunavut Act were adopted by Parliament and received Royal Assent. On April 1, 1999, two new Territories are officially created within Canada: Nunavut and the Northwest Territories.